top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren

Step 2. Messages Make Magic

Updated: Aug 30, 2019

Sliding into those DM's


Now that you have prepped your Facebook channels for visitors, now is the time to really lean into follow-up strategies and reaching out to people one-on-one. This is where most of the work and most of the magic will happen!

There is a misconception that because everything is fast paced on social media, so are results. Even though we get instant gratification in terms of responses, likes, attention and more online, the same can’t be said for sales.

Why? Because it takes time and effort to nurture a lead for a sale.

Think about how you even use your social media platforms. Maybe you scroll through Facebook on your lunch break or check your Instagram while in line at the grocery store. Typically, the time we spend online is mindless time. Meaning, we are scrolling through content very quickly, often times while we are distracted by other things.

This is why one post won’t make or break your online success. It’s also why posts like, “Book a Party” “Join My Team” or “Putting in an Order This Friday” rarely work. It can take a follower online multiple times – even dozens of times – to see your content before it really lands with them. That is why it’s crucial that you don’t get discouraged after only working this social media plan for a few days. It will take you weeks, even sometimes months, to turn a lead into a customer. But with the right strategies in place, I am going to help you cut that time in half and start seeing more results than you ever have.

That’s where direct and personal messaging comes in.

If you’re not familiar with the term, sliding into the DMs, all it really means is to personally message someone in a private setting.

This is going to be key for your success in the next 30 days and beyond.

Every day, I want you to reach out to at least 3-10 people a day to talk to about your business.

Now, let me be clear! When I say message them, I DON'T mean I want you to say anything along the lines of...

Hey girl! I know you don’t know me, but I just came across your profile and girl you are KILLING IT! You look like someone I would LOVE to do business with! In fact, me and three girls on my team are looking to mentor 5 new girls this month to grow a business using their social media account. Have you ever heard of Kole Jax before? If you would like to earn an additional $200-$2000 a month just by using your current followers and posting to social media, I would love to assist you! If I sent you a short video, would you watch it?


I don’t know about you, but that was cringe-worthy to hear! But the reality is, this script, and others just like it, are what is circulating in DMs (direct messages) all over social media by direct sellers in this industry.

And it’s not working. And if it does, I promise they aren’t attracting the leads they actually even want to.

When we act super spammy and impersonal, we alienate ourselves from our leads, and instead of warming them up to do business with us, we actually cool them way down. And the worst part is, once we have cooled down a lead, it’s almost virtually impossible to ever warm them up again to doing business with us.

When you reach out to someone online, you want to be genuine, authentic and have other motives rather than just trying to sell them something.

You should always be aiming to:

~Make genuine friendships

~Connect online in an authentic way

~Show care for others

~Be your true and honest self

~Compliment others and make them feel good

And more

Remember, direct sales is a relationship business. I mean, it’s called Network Marketing for a reason. It’s important that your goal every day is to talk to new people and make new connections.

So, how do you reach out to someone to start a real, authentic and genuine conversation?

You start messages that are sincere, ask for advice, compliment them or privately respond to something they said publicly.


To assist you with this, I have included 20 Direct Messages Conversation Starters for you. Print this page! That way, you can have it with you when you sit down to reach out to leads.

I want to be clear one more time, when you use these messages, in order for them to work, you truly have to be genuine. You actually have to care about the people you are reaching out to and you can’t be spammy! Your business will ALWAYS naturally come up in these conversations. Plus, when you build likeability in a direct message, people will ALWAYS click your profile and spend some time creeping you. That’s why it’s so important to make sure we have content and channels to support our business (like everything we’ve gone through already).


20 Direct Message Conversation Starters


Hey Amanda, long time no talk! How have you been?!


Hey Samantha, thought about you the other day! Wanted to check in


Hey! OMG! Saw your post on your Facebook Page...


Hey Jan! I know you’re really good at _______, I was wondering if _________


Hey Stacey! I am looking for a __________ and I figured you may know someone. P.S. How have you been?!


Omgosh. Guess what came up in my Facebook memories today!!!


Hey! Saw it was your birthday and just wanted to wish you well! Anything special planned?


Hey Jenny, where was that restaurant you and your husband went to last week?


Hey Linda! I always see you post about _______ and I’m actually looking for one! Where did you get yours?


Hey! OMG – I just saw your vacation pictures, they are beautiful! I’ve actually been looking into traveling there myself. How did you find it?


Hey! You posted a recipe a while back for_______.Was wondering if you wouldn’t mind sharing it with me!


Hey Ash. Girl. For real. I just wanted to say thank you for your post today. It felt like you were talking to me. Needed to hear it today. Thanks girl xo


BAH! Where did you get those __________?


Hey! I just wanted to say thank you so much for hopping on my Facebook Live the other day and commenting. I really appreciate your support.


Hey! Just wanted to follow up on....


Hey, I saw you asked __________ the other day, so when I saw this, I totally thought of you!


Hey! I saw you posted ________________ and I just wanted to say congratulations!


Hey Jackie. I just wanted to send you some love, girl. I saw __________ (something that happened to them that they posted about). Let me know if you need anything


Hey! Miss you! Was wondering if you wanted to grab coffee or dinner sometime? I saw you posted __________ and I want to get caught up on your life!


Hey! I’m interested in____________________ (purchasing from them).


443 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page